Day 052 – Curiosity about other people’s strengths

Building on the idea of being curious about my own strengths I see potential for being curious about other people’s strengths. Once I realized that some of the things I do naturally and without effort do not come naturally and effortlessly for everybody I started to realize (a) that I need to be more understanding of other people’s limitations and (b) could start to be more understanding of my own.

One clear example: Many years ago I served as the Stewardship Chairperson for my congregation. While the idea of creating a vibrant and inclusive stewardship campaign excited me, I was rather overwhelmed about the money and bookkeeping aspects. Imagine my relief when the Treasurer said, “Leave that to me. I’ve never met a number I didn’t like.” Complementary strengths. That should have told me way back then that it is worth being curious about other people’s abilities!

One thought on “Day 052 – Curiosity about other people’s strengths

  1. Pingback: Day 061 – Checking in on my hypothesis | A Year of Living Curiously

Leave a Reply

