Day 094 – That curious feeling

This afternoon I was planning to go to a symposium. It has been in my calendar and I’ve been looking forward to it for a couple of months now. Instead, I find, I’ll be going to a candlelight vigil for diversity, inclusiveness, and freedom although I’m not much of a mass gathering kind of person.

What does this have to do with curiosity? Simply, that the symposium is an annual one. I have been going for years and I feel completely comfortable there. It is a chance to practice desire-to-learn curiosity in a mild way but rarely does anything earth-shaking come out of the panel discussion. The vigil is unusual for me, new, and the chance to see what this other kind of experience is like.

Already I am experiencing one of the classic benefits of curiosity—I feel tingly and awake in my anticipation (in spite of my lingering jet-lag) rather than cozy and very, very safe.

Leave a Reply

