Day 165 – When the pressure is off

This is going to be a somewhat messy post because there are several different points on my mind.

One is that yesterday I found myself actively looking for chances to practice curiosity, a result, I think, of writing this blog–your energy goes where your attention is. Oddly, I didn’t find any big ones. 

Another point is that for the first time since I started this blog I forgot to post ahead of time. Some of you may already have realized that I write my posts the day before they appear and schedule their release for a minute or two after midnight. I have done this faithfully while traveling, sick, and working one of the most challenging projects of my career. Last night, now that the pressure is off, I forgot. I got home from a lovely evening at a friend’s, finished the book I was reading (“The End of Your Life Book Club”), brushed my teeth, and went to bed.

The thing about the evening with the friend, though, is that perhaps most of it was curiosity lived. It’s just that it was such natural and gentle curiosity I wouldn’t call it practice. We talked. We talked about deep things, things that really matter to us, and we listened to each other, creating a space where we could say what was occupying us without fear of judgment.

Clearly, when the circumstances are right, curiosity just happens and it is incredibly enriching, just as I hypothesized.

Leave a Reply

