Day 201 – Enjoying the  journey, certain kinds of reading

I’ve already outed myself as an avid reader. Why do I then qualify “reading” in the title with “certain kinds of”? Well, one thing I love to read are mysteries, especially those by Dorothy Sayers, Dorothy Gilman, Donna Leon, and Jacqueline Winspear. I can’t say, however, that I read those books with curiosity. When I read them for the first time I race to the end to find out how the story is resolved–not exactly the kind of curiosity I’m trying to build up. Often I have to go back and re-read the book to pick up the details because I have gone through so quickly.

The kind of reading where I naturally practice curiosity is good non-fiction on topics that interest me–stories of people moving to foreign countries and making new lives for themselves, intercultural theory, and (I must confess) pop psychology. Then I can really feel my openness and desire to learn, which is one kind of curiosity I do want to develop. That is, I’d like to find a way to apply that feeling or approach more easily to other areas of my life–like neighborhood festivals, perhaps. 😉

Leave a Reply

