Day 235 – Last day of the Inquiry challenge

Again I have been out partying, in a mild, middle-aged way. Today it was afternoon tea at a friend’s house.

A few days ago, I wrote that I found it easier to practice Inquiry because I know the person well and so trust her judgment. Today another side of friendship came up–the fact that we have a history with someone and know the points they keep coming back to. It can be easy to inwardly roll one’s eyes when a friend gets into one of his or her typical grooves. I’m sure there are times they inwardly roll their eyes when I do this.

This time I decided to listen and, in the spirit of Inquiry, suspend the inner eye rolling, and to enjoy simply being together. And I had a really nice afternoon. 

Leave a Reply

