Day 242 – A new form of interpersonal curiosity

A new form of interpersonal curiosity–easy to recognize, harder to practice.

I taught a group yesterday, in English but made up 100% of non-native English speakers. Some were really easy to understand. Others were harder. As I asked myself “What shall I write about today?” it occurred to me that I had actively and in the face of some difficulty practiced a good deal of interpersonal curiosity. I consistently tried to get beyond the accent and, in some cases, broken grammar in an effort to understand what the person meant.

This is not to be underestimated, I think, as a form of interpersonal curiosity. 

Leave a Reply

