Day 290 – Shopping for a laptop

Yesterday I set off for the second time to look at new laptops. What’s wrong with the one I have? A while ago it got dropped. It still works as well as it ever did, but because it landed on a corner and the hinge got damaged I can no longer open and close with any ease or confidence. Clearly, this rather gets in the way of its usefulness as a laptop, especially for someone like me who carries it around a lot, mainly to show PowerPoint presentations.

The above story means that I had a very specific idea of what I wanted. I don’t need a good computer for home. I have that, even if it is five years old. I was looking for something as inexpensive as possible to carry around. Nonetheless, I let the salesman, who (as far as I could tell) was very knowledgeable and helpful explain a few different models to me. I went home with the least expensive model that fit my needs, but being open to what he was telling me means that I feel good about the choice I made. I felt I was informed.

Leave a Reply

